Ironman 70.3 Austin

Allen Gardner (USA) led a group of five men who were within nine seconds of each other as they emerged from the waters of Lake Walter E. Long. Alongside Gardner were Americans Mikael O’Neil, Joe Umphenour, Matt Chrabot and James Cotter. Australian Richie Cunningham (who now makes the US his home) missed the lead pack in the swim, but was still in good shape less than a minute off the pace starting the bike.

At 28 miles into the single-loop bike, James Cotter (NZL) was leading O’Neil, Chrabot and Cunningham and the group was riding away from the rest of the field. Cunningham took the lead in the transition and was 10-seconds ahead of Chrabot and 30-seconds up on O’Neil starting the run. Chrabot stayed on Cunningham’s shoulder through the first six miles of the run, then surged away to take the 2013 Ironman 70.3 Austin title thanks to the day’s best run (1:11:12). Chrabot’s winning time (3:48:49) was enough for a 3:03 winning margin over Cunningham and 6:08 over Ben Hoffman (USA), who ran his way into third.

In the women’s race, Katy Blakemore (USA) and Rebekah Keat (AUS) exited the water within two seconds of each other, while Tami Ritchie and Ewa Bugdol (POL) were 29 and 56 seconds behind in third and fourth.

Blakemore held a 1:17 advantage over Keat heading into T2. Blakemore disappeared from the mix after the bike as Keat had the lead starting the run. By the halfway point of the run Keat was four-minutes ahead of McLane and more than five minutes up on Sarah Piampiano and defending champ Rachel McBride. Keat took the day with a 4:15:59 finishing time, which was good for a 3:25 winning margin over McBride and 4:08 ahead of McLane, who finished off the podium.


Ironman 70.3 Miami

The men exited the water with Todd Skipworth (AUS) leading the charge to T1. He was followed by group of 13 men who completed the 1.2 mile swim within 22 seconds of each other. All the contenders were well positioned within that group including Matty Reed (USA), Filip Osplay (CZE), Terenzo Bozzone (NZL), Nils Frommhold (DEU), Ben Collins (USA) and Leon Griffin (AUS).

Collins inched his way to the front and held a 90-second lead over a large pack at 28 miles. By the end of the ride Bozzone and Frommhold had reeled in all but 40 seconds of Collins’ lead, while a large chase pack dismounted their bikes over two minutes off the leader’s pace.

Unleashing his run prowess early, Bozzone grabbed the lead within the first mile of the run. Next Ospaly and Frommhold quickly took the second and third positions, as Collins faded to fourth. Throughout the remainder of the run Bozzone kept Ospaly and Frommhold in check, never allowing the pair to get closer than 20 seconds through the first 6.5 miles. Over the closing miles, Bozzone stretched out his lead and Ospaly and Frommhold were left to fight for second. Bozzone closed out the race with the fastest run of the day (1:11:16) to take the title in 3:41:17. Ospaly outpaced Frommhold for second with his 3:43:12 finish time, while Frommhold stopped the clock at 3:44:15.

In the women’s race Helle Frederiksen (DNK) put on a swim clinic, leading a chase pack of three by over a minute. The reigning Ironman 70.3 Miami champion, Leanda Cave (GBR), Nina Kraft (DEU) and Lisa Mensink (NLD) followed Frederiksen into transition and out on the bike.

Out on the bike course Frederiksen was unstoppable. By mile 28 the 2012 Olympian had established a six minute advantage over Erica Csomor (HUN), Cave and Mensink. At the conclusion of the 56-mile ride, Frederiksen was seven minutes ahead of Cave, Csomor and Mensink.

Frederiksen built up an eight and a half minute lead on Csomor through the first half of the run. At that point Mensink was in third, 11 minutes back, while Eimear Mullan (IRL) was storming forward and was less than a minute out of the final podium spot. Under no pressure over the final lap of the run, Frederiksen cruised to the win in 4:03:38. Csomor, came down the finish chute 8:11 later in second (4:11:48), while Mullan used her race-best run split of 1:17:14 to round out the podium in 4:12:39.


ITU World Cup Guatape

Spain’s Ainhoa Murua won gold in the women’s race, while Reinaldo Colucci of Brazil took gold in the men’s race at the 2013 Guatapé ITU Triathlon World Cup in Columbia, after heavy rain gave way to clear skies to create perfect racing conditions. The win was Murua’s first World Cup title in 12 years and three trips to the Olympics.

Colombia’s Carlos Javier Quinchará Forero won silver on home turf in the men’s race and Slovenia’s Mateja Simic took silver in the women’s race. French athletes Charlotte Morel and Etienne Diemunsch won bronze in the women’s and men’s races, respectively.