Promising big pro purses, star fields and action-packed, spectator-friendly super-sprint racing, former ITU World Champ, Ironman World Champion Chris McCormack announced the Super League Triathlon series as a new option for short- to middle-distance speedsters as a throwback to Australia’s old Australian F1 super-sprint series.

Among the athletes committed to the series are a men’s who’s who:  two-time Olympic gold medalist Alistair Brownlee (GBR), dual Olympic medalist Jonathan Brownlee (GBR), five-time ITU Triathlon World Champion Javier Gomez Noya (ESP), Escape from Alcatraz champion Joe Maloy (USA) and three-time Lifetime Fitness series champion Cameron Dye (USA) are among twenty-five athletes that have signed Super League Triathlon contracts for the championship series.

In what is described as a closed, invitation-only league series open only to those with a championship series contract, all athletes will race in Super League Triathlon uniforms and chase a $1.5 million professional prize purse, plus incentives over the opening Super League Triathlon season.

“Super League Triathlon is here to bring mainstream attention to triathlon and usher the sport into the big leagues of sport entertainment,” said Super League Triathlon co-founder Chris McCormack.

“All races are being broadcast live on television, on our digital platforms, and our racing and content focuses on what fans want to see. The racing is frenetic and action-packed but we’ll also tell the stories behind the racing,” he says. “Don’t think for a second that it’s all happy families among our athletes. We’ll highlight the rivalries, the personality clashes and intensity of a closed-league, big prize money series. For triathlon and sports fans we’ll be taking them deeper into the inner sanctum than ever before.”

Super League Triathlon is committed to innovation and sports entertainment. As part of this process each athlete has been given the opportunity to pick their race number to appear on their race apparel. Fans will be able to purchase replica race apparel and merchandise of their favorite athlete featuring their name and race number.

“Even with the selection of race numbers there’s already mind games going on,” McCormack said. “Javier Gomez Noya was straight out of the blocks and picked number 1, which leaves no-one doubting where he sees himself. Alistair Brownlee responded with the number 23, the most famous number in world sport and associated with one of the greatest and most influential athletes of all time. There’s no love lost here.”

Alistair Brownlee will be a key favorite for Super League Hamilton Island.

“Super League Triathlon will be exciting, dynamic racing and great viewing for all sports fans,” Alistair Brownlee said. “There’s a bit of chatter from the younger guys about the heat, the shorter distances, and a few of them fancy themselves for the win. While the formats are new and innovative, they’ve still got to swim, bike and run and they have to remember that their weaknesses will still be highlighted. It’ll be a lot of fun.”

Super League Triathlon has dispensed with the traditional swim, bike and run formula with five unique race formats that provide variety, unpredictability and requires athletes to apply new strategy and race tactics in each format.

Super League Triathlon race formats include a 300m swim, 6km bike and 2km run, with varying multiples and sequences of each discipline across the five race formats. The Super League Triathlon race formats for the championship series include ‘Triple Mix’, ‘Equalizer’, ‘Eliminator’ and ‘Enduro.’ In each format athletes will compete for prize money, championship series points and the prestigious series leader jersey and the swim, bike and run leader’s jerseys.

“Our race formats are a game changer and we’re going to find out who is truly the greatest multisport athlete on the planet,” McCormack said. “We’ve seen it so often over the years with the Brownlees and Gomez dominating in short course and in long course we see a relatively similar story unfold race after race.

“Of course, we’re expecting the blockbuster clashes between the Brownlees, Gomez and Mola, however, it may not always be at the front of the field. Our race formats also play to the strengths of the standout swimmers, bikers and runners who can destroy the traditional race strategy and lead from the front. And, then there’s the young brigade of super talented athletes like Jake Birtwhistle whose blistering run speed is made for Super League Triathlon racing. These next generation athletes have little regard for reputation and Super League Triathlon is the ultimate platform for them to shake up the establishment.”

The inaugural Super League Triathlon event will take place on Hamilton Island, located on the incredible Great Barrier Reef, Australia, with three days of racing on March 17, 18 and 19, 2017. Athletes will race in the Triple Mix (March 17), Equalizer (March 18) and Eliminator (March 19) formats over the three days. With hot days and a brutal course punctuated by steep climbs and dangerous descents on the bike, and a super-fast looped run course, athletes will be racing on the limit on all three days.

Super League Hamilton Island will be broadcast live on Fox Sports (Australia), Eurosport (Europe) and across the globe at More information about the Super League Hamilton Island event, including a detailed race schedule, course information and broadcast schedule will be released in the coming days.

While the Super League Triathlon championship series is spearheaded by the world’s best triathletes, age group athletes will also have the chance to race in Super League Triathlon from late 2017 onwards. With multiple event destinations set to be announced across the Asia-Pacific and Gulf regions, age group athletes can race the Super League Triathlon 626 format – a 600m swim, 20km bike and 6km run – at Super League Triathlon events. Super League Triathlon events will also feature participation opportunities for all with junior events, fun runs and health and lifestyle events as part of the event weekend, inspiring new generations to take up the sport.

A female championship series will commence from late 2017 onwards in the same locations as the male championship series events.

Josh Amberger (AUS), #27
Ryan Bailie (AUS), #39

Jake Birtwhistle (AUS) #44

Kristian Blummenfelt (NOR) #2

Terenzo Bozzone (NZL) #13

Alistair Brownlee (GBR) #23

Jonathan Brownlee (GBR) #5

Cameron Dye (US) #8

Crisanto Grajales Valencia (MEX) #6

Alessandro Fabian (ITA) #88

Ryan Fisher (AUS) #10

Javier Gomez Noya (ESP) #1

Joe Maloy (USA) #99

Brent McMahon (CAN) #83

Mario Mola Diaz (ESP) #03

Richard Murray (RSA) #7

Dimitry Polyanskiy (RUS) #77

Igor Polyanskiy (RUS) #11

Sigurdur Orn Ragnarsson (ISL) #57

Aaron Royle (AUS) #26
Andrea Salvisberg (SUI) #69

Henri Schoeman (RSA) #4

Ben Shaw (IRL) #73

Jorik van Egdom (NED) #21

Richard Varga (SVK) #12