Top triathletes from the United States and a number of other countries will converge on Las Vegas for the second installment of the 2013 USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series on Thursday, Sept. 19 at the Las Vegas Convention Center. The USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series was launched this year to showcase an exciting new format for the sport.

U.S. Olympians Gwen Jorgensen (St. Paul, Minn.) and Jarrod Shoemaker (Clermont, Fla.) are among the nearly 50 athletes – up to 20 women and 30 men – who will compete in Las Vegas in a unique format including a portable pool under the lights. Jorgensen is currently the No. 1 ranked female triathlete on the ITU World Triathlon Series circuit. A complete list of competitors is available below.

Race day action will begin with qualifying heats at 8:30 a.m. The top athletes from each qualifying heat (top 5 for women, top 3 for men) will earn a spot in the A finals at 8 p.m., following the B finals at 6 p.m. The schedule of events is available at Contested in a double super-sprint format, professional athletes will complete two continuous, non-stop circuits of the same course, each comprised of a 300-meter pool swim, 5-mile bike and 1.5-mile run.

The invitation-only pro field will compete for a total of $30,000 in prize money. A $20,000 prize purse will be shared equally between the overall male and female fields, with the top-10 finishers being rewarded in each division. There will also be a $10,000 prize purse shared among the top-five men’s and women’s U.S. athletes as part of the USA Triathlon Elite Sprint National Championships.

Qualifying and final heats of the event are free and open to the public. The Las Vegas Convention Center, located at 3150 Paradise Road, Las Vegas, NV 89109, is the host of the event, which be held in the parking lot off Convention Center Drive, approximately 3.3 miles from Mandalay Bay. An athlete autograph session will take place following the final heats and awards ceremony on Thursday evening.

The race will take place in Las Vegas during Interbike, the largest annual cycling trade show in North America, allowing endurance industry leaders to experience the engaging course design firsthand.

Visit or for more information.

USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series

Super Sprint Triathlon Grand Prix – Las Vegas

Competitors – Women

Jessica Broderick (Boulder, Colo.)

Chelsea Burns (Seattle, Wash.)

Ashleigh Gentle (AUS)

Katie Hursey (Hampstead, Md.)

Heather Jackson (Bend, Ore.)

Lindsey Jerdonek (Sagamore Hills, Ohio)

Erin Jones (Hood River, Ore.)

Gwen Jorgensen (St. Paul, Minn.)

Sara McLarty (Clermont, Fla.)

Michelle Mehnert (Boulder, Colo.)

Taylor Spivey (Redondo Beach, Calif.)

Radka Vodickova (CZE)

Katherine Warren (Goleta, Calif.)

Laurel Wassner (New York, N.Y.)

Rebeccah Wassner (New Paltz, N.Y.)

Kelsey Withrow (Park City, Utah)

Competitors – Men

Josh Amberger (AUS)

Ryan Bice (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Greg Billington (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Barrett Brandon (Fort Worth, Texas)

Ben Collins (Chicago, Ill.)

John Dahlz (South San Francisco, Calif.)

Cameron Dye (Boulder, Colo.)

Luke Farkas (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Leon Griffin (AUS)

William Huffman (College Station, Texas)

Sean Jefferson (Palisades, Calif.)

Bill Jones (La Jolla, Calif.)

Ben Kanute (Tucson, Ariz.)

Peter Kerr (AUS)

Eric Lagerstrom (Gresham, Ore.)

Kyle Leto (Boulder, Colo.)

Alex Libin (Clive, Iowa)

Joe Maloy (Wildwood Crest, N.J.)

Dustin McLarty (Irvine, Calif.)

Brandon Nied (Reno, Nev.)

John O’Neill (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Derek Oskutis (San Diego, Calif.)

Jason Pedersen (Simi Valley, Calif.)

Jacob Rhyner (Clermont, Fla.)

Jarrod Shoemaker (Clermont, Fla.)

Joel Tobin-White (AUS)

Kaleb VanOrt (Mishawaka, Ind.)

Lukas Verzbicas (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Marcel Walkington (AUS)

Tommy Zaferes (Soquel, Calif.)